December 31, 2019 | Compliance | Posted by novatime
Nevada’s 24 Hour Overtime Rule
Effective July 1, 2015, Nevada State Law entitles employees whose time and a half wages are less than $10.88 per hour and who receive Essential Health Benefits (EHB) to be paid overtime whenever they work more than 8 hours in a consecutive 24-hour period. The same applies for employees who do not receive qualified health benefits but whose time and a half wages are less than $12.38 per hour.
Real World Example
In the following example, we’ll see that that although the employee worked only 8 hours each day, they still managed to accrue overtime on both Tuesday and Wednesday.
|Start Time||8:00 AM||7:30 AM||7:00 AM||8:00 AM||8:00 AM|
|End Time||4:00 PM||3:30 PM||3:00 PM||4:00 PM||4:00 PM|
The 24-Hour Period Explained
The 24-hour period begins at the first punch of the day. For example, if on Monday, an employee punched in at 8am, then out at 4pm, any additional time accumulated past 4pm on Monday and before 8am on Tuesday would be considered overtime.
What are Essential Health Benefits?
Essential Health Benefits are certain benefits that all qualified health plans must provide. The Essential Health Benefits for Nevada include:
- Ambulance services and care
- Emergency service
- Maternity and newborn care
- Mental health and substance abuse disorder treatmentg
- Prescription drugs
- Rehabilitation and habilitation services and devices
- Lab services
- Preventive and wellness services and chronic disease support
- Pediatric services, including dental and vision
Helpful Links: www.laborcommissioner.com